Historic Preservation & Restoration

Projects that involve the rehabilitation or adaptive reuse of a structure often present unique challenges to the design team. Larson Engineering is equipped with the expertise to develop the innovative structural solutions required to make these restorations possible.  Larson Engineering has served as an integral part of design teams across the country to preserve our historic and cultural heritage.

image button 1 image button 2 image button 3

Experience

Adaptive reuse of historic buildings of various materials and construction types

Seismic retrofit of lateral force resisting system to meet current building codes

Work with architect and owner to provide structural design without affecting the historical character of the building

Integration of new structural system with remaining portion of partially collapsed building

Assessment of structures damaged due to natural events such as fire, flood, wind and seismic activity

Evaluations of structures damaged by a man made event such as explosions and vehicle collisions

Evaluations of existing roof structures to support new or modified mechanical rooftop equipment

Services

Forensic engineering

Complete structural analysis and design for gravity, wind, seismic, snow, ice and other loads

Provide structural investigation and evaluations of existing structures and advise on feasibility of its reuse

Retrofit structural systems to meet current building codes

Analysis of existing structural systems based on knowledge of past construction methods and materials

Design of systems to stabilize, repair and strengthen existing framing

Design structural modifications necessary to meet current code requirements, life safety provisions and/or change of use

Change of use evaluations

Site inspections and field reports

3D Building Information Modeling (BIM) using Revit Structure

Construction administration

Registered in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Mexico, 9 Canadian Provinces and all 3 territories

 

 

 

 

Contact

Arizona - Scottsdale
Kirk Smith, P.E.
480.212.4200
ksmith@larsonengr.com

Colorado - Lakewood
Robert Lewis, P.E.
303.989.0117
rlewis@larsonengr.com

Georgia - Norcross
Jason Carlson, P.E.
770.279.6010
jcarlson@larsonengr.com

Illinois - Naperville
Trevor Wickie, P.E., P.Eng
630.357.0540
twickie@larsonengr.com

Minnesota – White Bear Lake
Doug Hughes, P.E.
651.481.9120
dhughes@larsonengr.com

Missouri – St. Louis
Mike Goeden, S.E., P.E.
314.731.4710
mgoeden@larsonengr.com

New York - New York
Naseem Albori, S.E., P.E.
212.857.1898
nalbori@larsonengr.com

Wisconsin - Appleton
Kirk Haverland, P.E.
920.734.9867
khaverland@larsonengr.com