Glass Structures

An all glass façade utilizes the strength of the glass to provide a building enclosure without obstructing views with framing. The glass is typically retained with stainless steel fittings within the field of the glass and supported by glass fins, steel cables or other cross sections for lateral resistance. 

Larson Engineering is experienced with this material and style of façade. We can assist in the design of these systems by reviewing stainless steel hardware and utilizing finite element models and relevant design codes to establish the structural adequacy of the glass.

image button 1 image button 2 image button 3 image button 4 image button 5 image button 6

Experience

Point supported glass façades and glass canopies

Structural design of cable walls

Glass fin wall design

Glass handrail design

All glass and point supported system design including seismic forces and movements

National and international projects

Over 35 years of structural design for curtain wall systems

Services

Preliminary system review and design development

Structural design of glass

Finite element modeling of glass panels

Stainless steel hardware review

Glass verification

Thermal analysis

Design in hurricane impact regions

Designs to resist seismic loads and review of the movement capability

Seismic movement capability review

Structural calculations submittal package

Structural design assistance with field installation issues and on-site structural modifications

Registered in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Mexico, 9 Canadian Provinces and all 3 territories

 

Contact

Arizona - Scottsdale
Kirk Smith, P.E.
480.212.4200
ksmith@larsonengr.com

Illinois - Chicago
Melissa Gradecki, S.E., P.E.
312.345.0540
mgradecki@larsonengr.com

Massachusetts - Boston
Jake Palatine, P.E.
857.777.2163
jpalatine@larsonengr.com

Minnesota - White Bear Lake
Rachel Schulz, S.E., P.E.
651.481.9120
rschulz@larsonengr.com

Missouri - St. Louis
Erin Scarfino, P.E.
314.731.4710
escarfino@larsonengr.com

New York - New York
Steve Sletten, P.E.
212.857.1898
ssletten@larsonengr.com

Washington - Seattle
Josh McCluskey, P.E.
206.268.8585
jmccluskey@larsonengr.com

Wisconsin - Appleton
Kevin Wisniewski, S.E., P.E.
920.734.9867
kwisniewski@larsonengr.com